For Youth

Youth Outlook offers safe, supportive, and affirming services for LGBTQ+ youth, their families, and the community.  Please see below for our list of Drop-In Centers, including locations and suggested ages.


Our Drop-In Centers meet weekly and are a social setting for youth to meet other LGBTQ+ young people and talk about a variety of topics that really matter to them.  Whatever the topic, Youth Outlook’s Drop-In centers provide a place for LGBTQ+ youth to feel safe, supported, and celebrated. All groups welcome youth ages 12-20 unless otherwise noted below.  All services are offered to youth at no cost.

If you are a youth or parent with questions regarding any of our programs, services or resources please reach out to our Director of Operations and Programming, Carolyn Wahlskog, LCSW at carolyn.wahlskog@youth-outlook.org 

 

Current Drop-In Center Meeting Times & Locations

Agency Holiday Closures: Dec. 27th, Jan. 3rd, Jan. 17th 

COVID UPDATES: As of December 28, 2021, in person programming will pause as we monitor the Omicron surge. All drop in centers will meet via Zoom until further notice. Please reach out to the program leaders below for Zoom information. We will continue to update this site as more information becomes available.

 

DeKalb Drop-In
Mondays, 6:30-9:00 p.m.

1st Congregational Church
615 N. 1st Street
DeKalb, IL

Program Leader: Jacq Babcock @ jacq.babcock@youth-outlook.org 


Downers Grove Drop-In
Thursdays, 6:30-9:00 p.m.

First United Methodist Church
1032 Maple Ave.
Downers Grove, IL

Program Leader: Andi Voinovich @ andi.voinovich@youth-outlook.org


Elmhurst Drop-In
Thursdays, 6:30-9:00 p.m.

Bethel UCC
315 E. St. Charles Road (enter through Bethel House door on Huntington)
Elmhurst, IL

Program Leader: Maddi Wrzeciona @ maddi.wrzeciona@youth-outlook.org


Naperville Drop-In
Tuesdays, 6:30-9:00 p.m.

First Congregational Church
25 E. Benton Avenue
Naperville, IL

Program Leader: Peter Thaddeus @ Peter.thaddeus@youth-outlook.org


Transcend Naperville Drop-In
geared toward trans and non-binary youth 
Wednesdays, 6:50-900 p.m. (doors can not be opened before 6:50)

DuPage Unitarian Universalist Church
1828 Old Naperville Road
Naperville, IL

Program Leader: B Wenzel @ b.wenzel@youth-outlook.org


Ottawa Drop-In
Tuesdays, 6:30-9:00 p.m.

Open Table UCC
910 Columbus Street
Ottawa, IL

Program Leader: Heather Francis @ heather.francis@youth-outlook.org


Transcend Palatine Drop-In  
geared toward trans and non-binary youth 
Wednesdays, 6:30-9:00 p.m.

Countryside Unitarian Church
1025 N. Smith Street
Palatine, IL

Program Leader: Kim Frank @ kim.frank@youth-outlook.org


Sterling Drop-In
Thursdays, 6:30-9:00 p.m.

First Presbyterian Church
410 2nd Avenue
Sterling, IL

Program Leader: Karol Teal @ karol.teal@youth-outlook.org


Virtual Drop-In
geared toward youth 12-20 years old
Tuesdays, 5:30-8:00pm

Program Leader: Danny Julius @ danny.julius@youth-outlook.org


Virtual Young Adult Drop-In
geared toward young adults 18-24 years old
Wednesdays, 4:00-6:30 p.m.

Program Leader: Joanna Beaty @ joanna.beaty@youth-outlook.org