For Youth

Youth Outlook offers safe, supportive, and affirming services for LGBTQ+ youth, their families, and the community.  Please see below for our list of Drop-In Centers, including locations and suggested ages.


Our Drop-In Centers meet weekly and are a social setting for youth to meet other LGBTQ+ young people and talk about a variety of topics that really matter to them.  Whatever the topic, Youth Outlook’s Drop-In centers provide a place for LGBTQ+ youth to feel safe, supported, and celebrated. All groups welcome youth ages 12-20 unless otherwise noted below.  All services are offered to youth at no cost.

If you are a youth or parent with questions regarding any of our programs, services or resources please reach out to our Director of Operations and Programming, Carolyn Wahlskog, LCSW at carolyn.wahlskog@youth-outlook.org 

Visit our Events page for upcoming special events at the Drop-In Center!

To download our current Drop-In Center flyers to post in your location, please click here
 

 

Current Drop-In Center Meeting Times & Locations

Agency Holiday Closures: January 3rd & 17th, May 30th, June 20th, July 4th, September 5th, November 24th & 25th, December 24th & 25th

 

DeKalb Drop-In
Mondays, 6:30-9:00 p.m.

1st Congregational Church
615 N. 1st Street
DeKalb, IL

Program Leader: Jacq Babcock @ jacq.babcock@youth-outlook.org 


Downers Grove Drop-In
Thursdays, 6:30-9:00 p.m.

First United Methodist Church
1032 Maple Ave. (Enter through Grove St. door on the north side of the building)
Downers Grove, IL

Program Leader: Andi Voinovich @ andi.voinovich@youth-outlook.org


Elmhurst Drop-In
Thursdays, 6:30-9:00 p.m.

Bethel UCC
316 E Huntington (enter through Bethel House door on Huntington)
Elmhurst, IL

Program Leader: Tanner Spears @ tanner.spears@youth-outlook.org


Joliet/Lockport Drop-In 
Tuesdays, 6:30-9:00 p.m.

Spanish Community Center
309 N. Eastern Ave
Joliet, IL **Enter through the parking lot off Franklin Street, this is the entrance behind the community center**

Program Leader: Lalania O’Connor @ lalania.oconnor@youth-outlook.org


Naperville Drop-In
Tuesdays, 6:30-9:00 p.m.

First Congregational Church
25 E. Benton Avenue
Naperville, IL

Program Leader: Peter Thaddeus @ Peter.thaddeus@youth-outlook.org


Transcend Naperville Drop-In
geared toward trans and non-binary youth 
Wednesdays, 6:30-9:00 p.m. 

DuPage Unitarian Universalist Church
1828 Old Naperville Road
Naperville, IL

Program Leader: B Wenzel @ b.wenzel@youth-outlook.org


**Plainfield Drop-In**
**Coming October 2022!!**

Plainfield Congregational UCC
24020 W. Fraser Rd.
Plainfield, IL

Program Leader:  Interim please reach out to Director of Operations and Programming, Carolyn Wahlskog, LCSW at carolyn.wahlskog@youth-outlook.org 


Ottawa Drop-In
Tuesdays, 6:30-8:30 p.m.

Open Table UCC
910 Columbus Street
Ottawa, IL

Program Leader: Heather Francis @ heather.francis@youth-outlook.org


Transcend Palatine Drop-In  
geared toward trans and non-binary youth 
Wednesdays, 6:30-9:00 p.m.

Countryside Unitarian Church
1025 N. Smith Street
Palatine, IL

Program Leader: Kim Frank @ kim.frank@youth-outlook.org


Sterling Drop-In
Thursdays, 6:30-9:00 p.m.

First Presbyterian Church
410 2nd Avenue
Sterling, IL

Program Leader: Karol Teal @ karol.teal@youth-outlook.org


Virtual Drop-In
geared toward youth 12-20 years old
Tuesdays, 5:30-8:00 p.m.

Program Leader: Danny Julius @ danny.julius@youth-outlook.org


Virtual Young Adult Drop-In
geared toward young adults 18-24 years old
Wednesdays, 7:00-8:30 p.m.

Program Leader: Joanna Beaty @ joanna.beaty@youth-outlook.org


Q Chat Space Virtual
Trans + Non-Binary Chat for ages 13-19

Fridays, 6:00-7:30 p.m., https://www.qchatspace.org/Upcoming-Groups

Program Leader: Danny Julius @ danny.julius@youth-outlook.org