Dare to Dream

Save the Date: Dare to Dream 2024

Saturday, October 19, 2024 

Stay tuned for more details!

Previous Dare to Dream Event Awardees:

Each year Dare to Dream presents the following awards to honor and celebrate the great work being done in our community. Please click here to review those that have been awarded in previous years.

Business Partner

An honor for a business (for profit or not for profit)  whose work with us or on behalf of LGBT youth has advanced Youth Outlook’s mission.

2008 Hunters Video and Dance Club
2009 Marty Regan, Free Lance Graphic Artist
2010 EQUAL! at Alcatel-Lucent
2011 First Congregational Church, Naperville
2012 District 428
2013 DuPage Unitarian Universalist Church
2014 360 Youth Services
2015 BMO Pride
2016 Open Door Health Clinic
2017 Lurie Gender Clinic
2018 Network Facilitators for Kane, DuPage and North Suburbs
2022 Organized Chaos


Excellence in Service

The honor is awarded to one staff or volunteer each year for consistently going above and beyond the call of duty in their work with Youth Outlook.

2008 Nancy Mullen
2009 Carolyn Engle
2010 Vicky Graff
2011 Lorrie Brenneman
2012 Andrea Drott
2013 Carolyn Wahlskog
2014 Ann Loveland
2015 Karol Teal
2016 Peter Thaddeus
2017 Marcus Hamilton
2020 Kim Frank
2021 Staff Awarded for efforts during Covid Pandemic
2022 Andi Voinovich

Jill Poehlman Individual Community Partner

An honor for a community member (not board, volunteer or staff) whose work with us or on behalf of LGBT youth has advanced Youth Outlook’s mission.

2008 Karen Jarczyk
2009 Kathy Kempke
2010 David Fischer
2011 Sandy Stelmach
2012 Brooke Condon
2013 Christie Aird
2014 Kim Cecil
2015 Fran Zucco (renamed the Jill Poehlman Individual Community Partner Award)
2016 Owen Daniel-McCarter
2017 Debbie Robertson

Lorrie Lane Brenneman Achievement Award (previously called the IMPACT award)

An individual whose contributions significantly impact on the agency’s ability to function, fundraise, or provide services. (This award is specific to Youth Outlook.)

2013 Mark Pence
2014 Curtis Haase and Joe Montemayor
2015 Madeleine Baird
2016 Nancy Mullen (renamed the Lorrie Lane Brenneman Achievement Award)
2017 Dr. Rob Garafalo
2018 Shane Maxwell
2022 George Miller

Michael Fairbanks Youth Advocacy Award

Youth leaders, recently aged out and pending youth leaders can be considered. Consider recently aged out to mean someone who has left since the beginning of this school year.

2009 Michael Fairbanks
2010 Isabel Garcia
2011 Katie Kullen
2012 Bradi Pyrtle
2013 Joel Kline
2014 Michelle Spencer (renamed Michael Fairbanks Youth Advocacy Award)
2015 Lily Riel-Smith
2016 Danny Julius
2017 August Hupp
2018 Casey Baxter
2020 Jax Wokas
2021 West Oiler-Frederick
2022 Corinne F & Ty B